Red car smaller.jpg

Charlie Donlea

 Twenty years later

A Novel
 

#1 International
Bestselling Author

 
Skyline of New York City from New Jersey.jpg
A TV journalist investigating a twenty year-old cold case. 
An FBI agent lured out of retirement to go undercover...
Aerial view of beautiful white sailboat in blue sea at bright sunny summer evening. Adriat

Everywhere Books Are Sold


12.28.21

TO UNDERSTAND THE PRESENT, YOU HAVE TO LISTEN TO THE PAST...

1628458335.png

In this gripping, fast-paced new standalone thriller from USA Today, IndieBound, and #1 internationally bestselling author Charlie Donlea, a TV news host sets out to uncover the truth behind a gruesome tale of sex, betrayal, and murder twenty years after the investigation was abandoned in the wake of 9/11.

Avery Mason, host of American Events, knows the subjects that grab a TV audience’s attention. Her latest story—a murder mystery laced with sex, tragedy, and betrayal—is guaranteed to be ratings gold. New DNA technology has allowed the New

York medical examiner’s office to make its first successful identification of a 9/11 victim in years. The twist: the victim, Victoria Ford, had been accused of the gruesome murder of her married lover. In a chilling last call from the North Tower, Victoria begged her sister, Emma, to prove her innocence.

Emma Kind has waited twenty years to put her sister to rest, but closure won’t be complete until she can clear Victoria’s name. Alone she’s had no luck, but she’s convinced that Avery’s connections and fame will help. Avery, hoping to negotiate a more lucrative network contract, goes into investigative overdrive. Victoria had been having an affair with a successful novelist, found hanging from the balcony of his Catskills mansion. The rope, the bedroom, and the entire crime scene was covered in Victoria’s DNA. But the twisted puzzle of Victoria’s private life belies a much darker mystery Avery is determined to uncover. But what Avery doesn't realize is that there are other players in the game—including an FBI agent recruited out of retirement to go undercover—who are interested in Avery’s own secret past, one she has kept hidden from both the network executives and her television audience. A secret she thought was dead and buried...

 
Image by Sébastien Jermer

INSPIRATION

In TWENTY YEARS LATER, FBI agent Walt Jenkins is lured out of retirement to go undercover and spy on a television journalist who the Feds believe is hiding secrets. Walt has spent the last three years as a recluse in Jamaica after a messy exit from the FBI. He's enjoying a drink at Rick's Cafe, watching the locals dive from towering trees, when his old Bureau boss shows up with an offer he can't refuse...  

This is a video of my time at Rick's Cafe in Jamaica, which inspired part of the setting for TWENTY YEARS LATER.

This is my own daring attempt at cliff diving at Rick's Cafe in Jamaica...

 
autumn-autumn-leaves-blur-close-up-58984

INTERVIEW 

3CR RADIO 
 


Listen to Charlie Donlea’s interview with David McClean about writing Twenty Years Later 

Interviews

Bad Sydney Crime Festival

Bad Sydney.jpeg

Coming soon

Sunset Over Manhattan

Australian Edition 

The terror attack that shocked the world ... A decades-old murder about to be solved ... A gripping new thriller from the author of the bestselling The Girl Who Was Taken.

1629659734.png
Penguin-Random-House-Australia.jpg
road wet autumn woods .jpg

UK Edition

Two decades after an event that shook the world, a chilling cold case murder is about to make the headlines all over again.

An explosive and compulsively readable crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages late into the night. Perfect for fans of Mary Kubica, Riley Sager and Rick Mofina.
1632830222.png

6 January 2022

Canelo.png
MYSTERIOUS WOMAN BLONDE WOODS.jpg

Brazil Edition 

1630704424.png

Available from Faro Editorial

09.10.21

faro.png